Facebook: Add Friends. NOW STOP IT!

Every time I log onto Facebook, I get this message:
It involves the chance to add people who are associated with other people I know, which tends to be other conservative or at least politically minded people in Canada.

But today when adding somebody I now get this message:
So figure it out Facebook. Do you want me to add people? Or don't add people?

And after getting this block message? The "add more friends" window still exists. So, uh, I'm still blocked am I? Isn't this like holding Alcoholics Anonymous meetings in a seedy bar during Happy Hour?